Kingsport Times News Saturday, January 20, 2018
SNEAK PEEK: Take a first look at our new site and tell us what you think. »

Videos Local News Education Live Video

Hawkins BOE honors students

December 30th, 2014 8:18 am by Jeff Bobo

Hawkins BOE honors students

Cherokee High School fine arts teacher Robert Dickenson and some of his students were recognized for creating a banner that was on display during the recent Tennessee School Board Association annual conference.

ROGERSVILLE — The Hawkins County Board of Education honored several students at its regular monthly meeting earlier this month including a group of artists whose work was put on display for every school system in Tennessee.

At the Dec. 4 BOE meeting, board member Debbie Shedden recognized the Cherokee High School student artists who created a banner that was on display during the recent Tennessee School Board Association annual conference and convention in Nashville.

"Over 750 school board members, superintendents, and business leaders attended this year's event," Shedden said. "Every year, systems across the state are represented by banners that are created totally by students to reflect the theme of the convention."

This year's theme was, "Stand up for public schools" and the Hawkins County banner was created by a group of Cherokee High School art students under the guidance of fine arts teacher Robert Dickenson.

Dickenson was recognized by the board for this year's banner, along with student artists Madison Byington, Hannah Montgomery, Lauren Kite, Kasey Stubblefield and Destiny Williams.

Shedden told the board and others that the Hawkins County school system was well represented by its banner at the TSBA convention.

Other student and teacher recognitions presented to the BOE during its Dec. 4 meeting included:

* Rogersville Middle School teacher Brian Shaw and Church Hill Elementary School teacher Michelle Brown for winning the district's attendance contest for Attendance Awareness Month in September.

* Chloe Bradley from St. Clair Elementary, who won the Attendance Awareness Month poster contest.

* Mooresburg Elementary School teacher Beth Morgan and her students Hayden Adkins, Melana Dalton, Madeline McGuire, Alisa Hutchinson, and Nolan Dalton who won the Attendance Awareness Month elementary video contest. Clinch School won the Attendance Awareness Month "secondary school video contest."

* The Church Hill Middle School volleyball team for being back-to-back regular season runner-ups and conference tournament champions. Emily Christian, Kelsey Bolton and Gracie Smith were also singled out for being named to the All Conference team.

Additional Photos

comments powered by Disqus